Illinois officials warn drivers about new law
Illinois law enforcement officials want to remind you about the new cell phone law that takes effect in the new year.
Authorities say come January 1st the use of cell phones while driving will be illegal.
The law already prohibits texting or emailing while behind the wheel.
First time violators will face a $75 fine and each additional offense will increase by $25.
The state of Missouri doesn't have a cell phone ban, but it does block drivers under the age of 21 from texting.
The state of Iowa bans all drivers from texting and driving and cell phone usage behind the wheel is illegal for all learner permit and intermediate license holders.
Kristen Aguirre contributed to this Associated Press story.