Honeymoon phase over for cell phone law
Sat, 08 Mar 2014 00:43:16 GMT —
The ban on talking on your cell phone while driving has been in effect for 66 days in the State of Illinois.
But you might be surprised by how many people have received tickets for that offense during that time period.
Driving is something most of us do every single day.
But so is talking on our cell phone.
Since January 1, it has been illegal in Illinois to do both at the same time, unless it's hands free.
Quincy resident Valerie Young thinks it's smart to just let it ring.
"I've been trying to abide by it myself, but like I said it's hard," said Young.
The city has only handed out one ticket in 2014, and that is surprising for Officer Kelly Vandermaiden.
That's not to say there haven't been warnings.
"I am little bit surprised that's there's only been one," said Vandermaiden. "I think people are doing a better job not using their cell phone while they're driving. I think initially it was hard for people to get in that habit, but I think once they do, they're doing a great job."
If you're going to succumb to distracted driving, it could cost you.
Tickets start at $75 for your first time, $100 for the second, $125 for the third, and $150 for every time after.
Young shared her advice for when you're tempted to answer your phone.
"It could prevent a lot of accidents," said Young. "If you do, pull over or wait. Nothing's more important than your life."
In regards to using ear buds when driving, it is against law to have both in your ears while driving, but one ear bud is allowed.
Vandermaiden said the bottom line is to give yourself as little distraction as possible.